Watch me shrink-the post baby project

Its been a while since Ive posted.  Alot has happened, and the most important one, we had a baby!  Like every new mom, except for the genetically gifted, I was welcomed home with a bundle of joy and an extra 25lbs left from the pregnancy.  I have decided to add to this blog,  by tracking my progress and weight loss journey, along with occasional pictures and girth and weight/bodyfat tracking.  Its a stretch for me, I do not like advertising myself, but with my career endeavors, I figured it was good practice.  It also will give those of you still struggling with your weight a glimmer of hope.

The pregnancy was uneventful. The typical nausea, not much cravings, but a huge appetite and a 45lb weight gain that I also had with my first child, Layla.  I also worked out longer this time and avoided the numerous slices of  Tony’s Pizza and lasagna and sweets that I had with Layla, which tells me that your body is just programmed to gain what it’s going to gain. I am a bit surprised that I was able to gain so much, even with the grilled chicken salads I was having for dinner, but I have succumbed to the fact that “it is what it is”.

I had a C- section that was planned. This was due to my first being breech and having her via C-section as well.  I had a choice of a VBAC and was a good candidate for it, but decided against it and boy am I glad, b/c Vinny was big and would have been even bigger if we had waited to my due date!  (at least 9lbs I believe)

 They pumped me up with fluids.  The surgery was uneventful, typical post surgery swelling and pain.  I also was one of the unfortunate to get an infection, but luckily we caught it early and I was started on a round of antibiotics.  Breastfeeding is going better than with my first, and that is because I ws proactive this time and requested a few things to get things started early, so my milk came in on the 3rd day and Ive even got a bit extra to stash in my freezer.  Not a milk machine, but definitely better.

I wont get the green light to get back to exercise until 6 weeks.  As I feel better though, I can start taking light strolls.  My muscles feel weak, and I can tell I am losing muscle.  I also have only lost 20lbs of the 45 I have gained, so the task at hand is 25lbs of fat.  I know my body is going to hold onto some weight until I wean from the breast, and I am prepared to deal with that. 

Until I am ready to start training again, and it will be a slow progression, I have decided to start watching my portions for the next 4 to 5 weeks by counting weight watchers points, which should give me a jump start on my progress.  Until then, I do not expect much to change, maybe another 5lbs if I am lucky.  I will post any measureable progress here. I also need to do some initial girth measurements, which I will post as well.  What I tell clients is that the measurements are what hold you accountable for making progress.  Each time you measure, you get feedback on your progress, and whether you need to be more compliant or if things are on the right track.  Without them, chances are you wont make much of an effort, will be working blindly, and probably like many people, will remain “stationary”, and quickly lose motivation.  Measurements are your “checks and balances”.

Till next time!

About mandyfitness

fitness trainer and certified nutritionist ISSA Certified Personal Trainer ISSA Certified Sports Fitness Nutritionist MS Biology Clemson graduate student of Biology (Summer 2016) Spinning instructor Group Fitness instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Watch me shrink-the post baby project

  1. Sarah Jasperse says:

    Sounds like a great plan. I will enjoy watching part of you disappear. I bet your weight loss will be easier than you think.

  2. Andrea says:

    Awesome Mandy!

  3. Liz says:

    Good Luck, Mandy! I can’t believe you’ve already dropped 20 lbs!!

Leave a Reply

