Watch me shrink-the post baby project

Its definitely time for an update!!  Vinny is 6.5 months old already and started solids.  Nursing still going strong, I think he loves it so much it may be difficult to wean him. That’s Ok b/c I am really enjoying this time and its my last baby, so I want to hold onto it!

The weight is coming off slowly.  Ive lost a total of 16lbs and 13.5 inches.  Ive got another 10lbs left and 10-12 more inches, so I can say Im a little over halfway there.  I decided to join the bodybyvi challenge offered by Visalus. (www.mandyfitness.bodybyvi.com)

THe reason is really b/c the shakes are so yummy.  But in all honesty, I am so busy, trying hard to prepare homemade baby food, feed a picky 4 year old good meals that she will eat, and feed myself clean foods, that I feel like I live in the kitchen.  The shakes are convient and fast and give me the adequate nutrition I need to keep up with my fast paced life.  I drink one for breakfast and one midday to hold me over for dinner.  Also since Im a fitness instructor, my classes burn off alot of energy, and I need to replace the lost nutrients with something substantial to keep my metabolism burning.  I love the flavor, sweet cream because it allows me to be creative by adding different fruits or nut butters.  Ive tried chocolate peanut butter for a reese’s pb taste.  I also did my research and the soy protein they use is top notch. If you are not certain about soy, see below

http://www.ivillage.com/verdict-soy-good-bad-and-questionable/4-b-422288?nlcid=dg|02-01-2012|

So that being said, Im having fun with this.

Here is my latest recipe. Ordered defatted peanut butter from Bell plantation, see link below.  You can use regular peanut butter but I like to shave calories off and keep flavor so I can keep the fat coming off.

http://bellplantation.com/

Recipe:

  • 2 tbsp pb2
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened choc almond milk
  • 1/2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa

Mix together.  Under 50 calories per serving and WOW delicious in the shake or even when you want a choc peanut butter fix.

Ive gotten busy with teaching. I teach spin once a week, a Total body conditioning class once a week, and lower body class called below the belt once a week. Also still teaching Group Power once a week.  Im sure its helping, as I feel stronger and definitely feel the muscles getting stronger under the fat 🙂  Im also attending a step workshop this weekend, not sure I will ever teach it but its good to have in my back pocket incase I ever wanted to. Im starting to love it.  And dont forget the weight room when I have time. Whenever I can I try to focus hybrid exercises that utilize the lower and upper body together, recruiting more muscles in the same amt of time and getting a bigger boost to that metabolism.  Mine is slow so I have to do all that I can!

More recipes to come!

About mandyfitness

fitness trainer and certified nutritionist ISSA Certified Personal Trainer ISSA Certified Sports Fitness Nutritionist MS Biology Clemson graduate student of Biology (Summer 2016) Spinning instructor Group Fitness instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

