Watch me shrink-the post baby project

 

WOW, I cannot believe this baby is already 1 years old!  Time flies.  An update on my progress.  I officially reached my pre-pregnancy weight!  But this does not mean its over.  Silly me, I gained a few pounds over the holidays before getting pregnant, so I have another 5 to 7lbs left to go. In addition, this momma is going to be working on body recomposition, as pregnancy definitely changes your fat distribution. I have more in my belly and hips than before, so with diet, weight training, and some cardio, it should take care of it.  I am still nursing, this boy!  He definitely wont let that one go yet, so my prolactin hormone levels are a bit higher. Im sure a few pounds will drop right after we are completley weaned.  I did get my “friend” for the first time last month, so its all a sign that things are finally moving in the right direction!

I took before and after pics of my progress every 3 months, but I am not yet ready to post it.  Once Ive reached a place I am comfortable, I promise to post 🙂

So incase you are wondering what is to come.  I have decided to start watching my caloric intake a bit.  Now i have to be honest, weighing your foods is almost an impossible task when you have 2 hungry kids screaming at you and when you are hungry. But I am doing my best.  I have targeted an average of 1450 to 1600 calories a day, trying to stay within a macronutrient range of 40% carbs, 40% protein, and 20% fat, with a tolerance of 5% in either direction.  This has been working so far, Ive been losing 2lbs a month, and am down 20lbs since October.   I plan to keep this diet thru the winter holidays.  I teach 4 classes a week at 2 different gyms, and ocassionally sub at other gyms, but I did start doing a solid weight training program 3 to 4 days a week to help build muscle and keep my metabolism burning.  In the fall I will start some interval runs at the park as well.

Next spring I plan to do about 6 to 12 weeks of carb cycling, which is an advanced dieting strategy.  I did that 2 years ago and made some amazing progress.  After that, I also plan to try Lyle McDonald’s stubborn fat loss solution, for those stubborn lower body fat areas.  This program I have to say, is BRUTAL, and Im not sure i will be cut out for it, but that’s the plan so far

Check it out

http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/the-stubborn-fat-solution

Oh and I wanted to share a great article by Metabolic Effect, showing you that too much exercise and too strict of a diet isnt always the best idea!http://blog.metaboliceffect.com/2012/06/06/metabolic-rehab-is-your-metabolism-broken/

About mandyfitness

fitness trainer and certified nutritionist ISSA Certified Personal Trainer ISSA Certified Sports Fitness Nutritionist MS Biology Clemson graduate student of Biology (Summer 2016) Spinning instructor Group Fitness instructor
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

